# Clay-Crawford-Jasper-Lawrence-Richland Regional Board of School Trustees Reorganizational Meeting May 20, 2019 – 7:00 p.m.

Small Courtroom, Third Floor Courthouse, 103 W. Main St., Olney, IL 62450

The Regional Board of School Trustees met to reorganize at 7:00 p.m. on May 20, 2019, in the Small Courtroom on the Third Floor of the Courthouse in Olney, IL.

Chairman Bill Staser called the meeting to order at 7:05 pm.

## Roll Call:

#### Present:

Bill Staser, Clay County Kaye Holscher, Crawford County Travis Farley, Jasper County Gene Allen, Lawrence County Marilyn Holt, Richland County

#### Absent:

Julia New, Lawrence County Sheila Mikeworth, Crawford County

### **Others Present:**

Monte Newlin, Ex-Officio Secretary Corrie Ray, Assistant Regional Superintendent Tammy Hertenstein, ROE #12 Administrative Assistant Elinor Staser

Marilyn Holt made a motion to approve the minutes from the April 1<sup>st</sup>, 2019 meeting, second by Kay Holscher. Bill Staser noted a correction of a misspelled name. A roll call vote to approve the minutes resulted in 5 in favor (Staser, Holscher, Farley, Allen, Holt) and 2 absent (Mikeworth, New). The minutes were approved.

Monte Newlin recognized retiring board President Bill Staser for his years of service on the Regional Board of School Trustees.

The meeting was adjourned (sine die).

The motion was made by Travis Farley and seconded by Gene Allen to appoint Monte Newlin, Regional Superintendent as Temporary Chair. All were in favor (on a voice vote).

Monte Newlin reviewed the election results of the April  $2^{nd}$  Consolidated Elections with the board members. The canvass of election results, completed by Richland County

Clerk Alice Mullinax, was presented by Monte Newlin who proceeded to seat the reelected and newly-elected board members who were present. Board member Gene Allen was then administered the oath of office by Regional Superintendent Monte Newlin. (Julia New and Bob Pierson were absent)

Monte Newlin then called the meeting to order.

Roll Call:

Present:

Kaye Holscher, Crawford County Travis Farley, Jasper County Gene Allen, Lawrence County Marilyn Holt, Richland County

Absent:

Julia New, Lawrence County Sheila Mikeworth, Crawford County Bob Pierson, Clay County

Kaye Holscher made a motion to nominate Travis Farley as President of the Regional Board of School Trustees for a two year term. Marilyn Holt seconded the motion. All present were in favor (on a voice vote).

Travis Farley nominated Gene Allen as Vice-President for a two year term. Marilyn Holt seconded the motion. All were in favor (on a voice vote).

The Regional Board of School Trustees is required by the school code to meet in July, October, January and April of each year in the Regional Superintendent's Office. Kaye Holscher made a motion that the board meet the first Monday of July, October, January and April in the Small Courtroom of the Richland County Courthouse in Olney, Illinois at 7:00 p.m. The motion was seconded by Gene Allen. All were in favor (on a voice vote). The next regular meeting will be Monday, July 1, 2019, at 7:00 p.m.

Kaye Holscher made a motion to adjourn the meeting and Marilyn Holt seconded. All were in favor. The meeting was adjourned at 7:23 p.m.

Travis Farley, Chairman

Date

Monte Newlin, Ex-Officio Secretary

Date