Clay-Crawford-Jasper-Lawrence-Richland Regional Board of School Trustees Special Meeting October 28, 2013 - 6:30 p.m.

Richland County Meeting Room, Richland County Jail, Olney, IL

The Regional Board of School Trustees held a special meeting at 6:30 p.m. on October 28, 2013, in the Richland County Meeting Room at the Richland County Jail in Olney, Illinois

Bill Staser called the regular meeting to order.

Roll Call:

Board Members Present:
Bill Staser, Clay County
Robert Fear, Jasper County
Gene Allen, Lawrence County
Josh Weger, Lawrence County
Ron Janes, Richland County

Board Members Absent: Bob Harris, Crawford County

Others Present:

Monte Newlin, Ex-Officio Secretary; Corrie Ray, Assistant Regional Superintendent; Ann Britton, ROE #12 Administrative Assistant; Joyce Lawrence, CSR; Bill Thomas; Mike, Bridget and Carson Jones; Cathy Croy; Dan Cox; Lyle and Debra Kirby; Josh and Lisa Kreke; Cary Jackson; Kaye Holscher and Elinor Staser

Josh Weger made a motion to approve the minutes from the previous meeting, second by Ron Janes. All in favor, none opposed.

A motion was made by Josh Weger to appoint C. Kaye Holscher to the Regional Board of School Trustees to fill the vacancy resulting from Ed Halter's resignation. Gene Allen seconded the motion. A roll call vote of those in favor of the appointment resulted in 5 (five) in favor (Staser, Fear, Allen, Weger, Janes), 0 (zero) opposed and 1 (one) absent (Harris). Monte Newlin administered the oath of office and C. Kaye Holscher was seated on the board.

Hearing Officer Monte Newlin presided over the petition hearing.

The first petition to be heard was to detach territory from Clay City Community Unit School District #10 and annex same territory to Jasper County Community Unit School District #1 submitted by Michael M. Jones and Bridget N. Jones, Herman J. Kistner and Janet L. Kistner, Herman J. Kistner and Arlene R. Volk.

All present were given the opportunity to present testimony. Those presenting testimony at the hearing were Bridget Jones, Michael Jones and Cathy Croy. Dan Cox gave a statement.

Using case law and school code, the board considered testimony and the exhibits presented. Following consideration by the board a roll call vote was taken. Board members were instructed that a yes vote indicated they approved to grant the petition; a no vote indicated they did not approve to grant the petition.

Roll Call Vote:

Bill Staser No
Bob Harris Absent
C. Kaye Holscher Yes
Robert Fear Yes
Gene Allen Yes
Josh Weger Yes
Ron Janes Yes

Based upon the board vote, the petition was approved with five yes votes, one no votes, and one absent.

This is a summary statement as required by the Illinois School Code. A complete record of all matters and votes taken are contained in the transcript prepared by the court reporter which is on file in the office of the Regional Superintendent

The next petition to be heard was to detach territory from Jasper County Community Unit School District #1 and annex same territory to Dieterich Community Unit School District #30 submitted by Lyle and Debra Kirby.

All present were given the opportunity to present testimony. Those presenting testimony at the hearing were Lyle Kirby, Josh Kreke and Dan Cox.

Using case law and school code, the board considered testimony and the exhibits presented. Following consideration by the board a roll call vote was taken. Board members were instructed that a yes vote indicated they approved to grant the petition; a no vote indicated they did not approve to grant the petition.

Roll Call Vote:

Bill Staser Yes
Bob Harris Absent
C. Kaye Holscher Yes
Robert Fear Yes
Gene Allen Yes
Josh Weger Yes
Ron Janes Yes

Based upon the board vote, the petition was approved with six yes votes, zero no votes, and one absent.

This is a summary statement as required by the Illinois School Code. A	۱ complete
record of all matters and votes taken are contained in the transcript pre	pared by
the court reporter which is on file in the office of the Regional Superinte	ndent.

Ron Janes made a motion to adjourn the meeting, Josh Weger seconded. All were in favor. None opposed. The meeting was adjourned.

William Bill Staser, Chairman	Date
Monte Newlin, Ex-Officio Secretary	Date