## Clay-Crawford-Jasper-Lawrence-Richland Regional Board of School Trustees Regular Meeting January 8, 2018- 7:00 p.m. Small Courtroom, Third Floor Courthouse, 103 W. Main St., Olney, IL

The Regional Board of School Trustees held a regular meeting at 7:00 p.m. on January 8, 2018, in the Small Courtroom on the Third Floor of the Courthouse in Olney, Illinois.

Chairman Bill Staser called the meeting to order.

Roll Call: Present: Bill Staser, Clay County Kaye Holscher, Crawford County Sheila Mikeworth, Crawford County Gene Allen, Lawrence County Julia New, Lawrence County Marilyn Holt, Richland County

Absent: Travis Farley, Jasper County

## Others Present:

Monte Newlin, Ex-Officio Secretary; Corrie Ray, Assistant Regional Superintendent; Ann Britton, ROE #12 Administrative Assistant; Joyce Lawrence, Court Reporter; Jessica Bonnell, David Carter, Mary Carter, Petitioners; William K. Thomas, attorney for petitioners; Josh Quick; Superintendent Robinson CUSD #2; Gina Niemerg, Ross Niemerg, Eric Niemerg, Kyle Niemerg, Petitioners; Andrew Johnson, Superintendent, Jasper County CUSD #1.

Monte Newlin administered the Oath of Office to board member Julia New.

Gene Allen made a motion to approve the minutes from the previous meeting, second by Kaye Holscher. All in favor. None were opposed.

Hearing Officer Monte Newlin presided over the first petition hearing. The petition to be heard was to detach territory from Oblong CUSD #4 and annex same territory to Robinson CUSD #2 submitted by David Carter, Mary Carter and Jessica Bonnell.

All present were given the opportunity to present testimony. The petitioners were represented by Attorney William Thomas. Those presenting testimony at the hearing were David Carter, Mary Carter, Jessica Bonnell and Josh Quick.

Oblong CUSD #4 was not represented at the Hearing.

A motion to consider the petition was made by Kaye Holscher, seconded by Gene Allen. Using case law and School Code, the Board considered testimony

and the exhibits presented. Following consideration by the Board, Marilyn Holt made a motion to approve the petition, seconded by Julia New. A roll call vote was taken. Board members were instructed that a yes vote indicated they approved granting the petition; a no vote indicated they did not approve granting the petition.

Roll Call Vote:

Bill Staser	Yes
Sheila Mikeworth	Yes
Kaye Holscher	Yes
Travis Farley	Absent
Gene Allen	Yes
Julie New	Yes
Marilyn Holt	Yes

Based upon the board vote, the petition was approved with six yes votes, zero no votes, and one absent.

This is a summary statement as required by the Illinois School Code: A complete record of all matters and votes taken are contained in the transcript prepared by the court reporter which is on file in the office of the Regional Superintendent.

Hearing Officer Monte Newlin presided over the second petition hearing. The petition to be heard was to detach territory from Jasper County CUSD #1 and annex same territory to Dieterich CUSD #30 submitted by Ross and Gina Niemerg.

All present were given the opportunity to present testimony. Those presenting testimony at the hearing were Gina Niemerg, Ross Niemerg and Andrew Johnson.

Dieterich CUSD #30 was not represented at the Hearing.

Using case law and School Code, the Board considered testimony and the exhibits presented. A roll call vote was taken. Board members were instructed that a yes vote indicated they approved granting the petition; a no vote indicated they did not approve granting the petition.

Roll Call Vote:

Bill Staser	Yes
Sheila Mikeworth	Yes
Kaye Holscher	Yes
Travis Farley	Absent
Gene Allen	Yes
Julie New	Yes
Marilyn Holt	Yes

Based upon the board vote, the petition was approved with six yes votes, zero no votes, and one absent.

This is a summary statement as required by the Illinois School Code: A complete record of all matters and votes taken are contained in the transcript prepared by the court reporter which is on file in the office of the Regional Superintendent.

As there was no business under Item #9 Other, Gene Allen made a motion to adjourn the meeting, seconded by Sheila Mikeworth. All were in favor. None opposed. The meeting was adjourned.

William Bill Staser, Chairman

Date

Monte Newlin, Ex-Officio Secretary

Date